Huawei Mate 30 launch live blog: we’re reporting live from the Munich event


X Scalper

The Huawei Mate 30 launch is today, September 19, and we’re in Munich, Germany reporting live from the firm’s launch event.

Rumors suggest we could see at least three smartphones, a new smartwatch, a refreshed fitness tracker and even a TV, and we’ll bring you all the news right here in our Huawei Mate 30 launch live blog.

This could be quite an interesting launch event for another reason, however. It looks like Huawei’s new handsets – the Mate 30, Mate 30 Pro and Mate 30 Lite – won’t arrive with Google’s suite of applications installed on them.

That’s down to the ongoing feud between the US and China, with the former banning Google from working with Huawei which has resulted in the phone manufacturer being unable to launch new devices with Google’s apps on them.

We’ll be bringing you information on how this impacts the new handsets, and potentially your ownership of them, in our Huawei Mate 30 launch live blog below.

The Huawei Mate 30 launch kicks off at 2pm CEST (1pm BST, 8am EDT, 5am PDT and 10pm AEST), so make sure you bookmark this page and keep hitting that refresh button.

Huawei Mate 30 launch live blog

All times in Central European Summer Time (CEST)

Please refresh this page for the latest live blog updates

13:59 – The voice of god has just told us to get prepared. We’re expecting at least seven different devices today, so pray for our fingers and bear with us as we get started on what’s expected to be an eventful hour and a half. 

13:54 – The music in the room has a hint of Game of Thrones about it. It’s all a little bit like that scene from season 6 with the Great Sept of Baelor and, you know, the thing that happens. 

Either that or the other best way of describing it is it’s similar to Huawei’s ringtones…

13:50 – We’re sat down at the launch and ready to roll. We’re in the second row – if you’re watching the live stream – and we’ve just heard a call saying it’s all set to start in 10 minutes. 

13:45 – Huawei’s troubles have been well documented recently, but it’s still expecting a big turnout today.

13:30 – If only Huawei had signposted this event better…

13:05 – There’s less than an hour to go now, but our preview of what to expect isn’t over. Something else we could see Huawei launch today is a TV. 

We already know the OnePlus TV will launch soon, and we’ve seen Huawei show off its in-house operating system – Harmony OS – running on the Honor Vision television. Today we could get a Huawei-branded set running the software.

12:45 – We’re on our way to the event venue, and we’re thinking more about what else Huawei may have in store for us other than new Mate 30 smartphones.

There’s talk of the Huawei Watch GT 2 smartwatch, the successor to the Watch GT which had incredible battery life but lacked a number of key features. Hopefully Huawei will have added to its wearable app arsenal if it is to launch the Watch GT 2 today.

Another product that’s rumor to arrive during the Mate 30 launch is the Huawei Band 4 Pro, a fitness tracker follow up to the inexpensive Band 3 Pro.

12:30 – There’s just an hour and a half until Huawei’s Mate 30 launch event gets under way, and if you fancy watching it with your own eyes as well as keeping up to date with our live blog then we can help.

10:45 – We’re in Munich, Germany and even though the launch is just mere hours away the Huawei Mate 30 leaks keep on rolling. In fact, it appears there’s actually very little we don’t know about the rumored handsets now, with a huge number of convincing leaks having hit the web over recent months.




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*